Best of the best

We’re delighted to hear that Sony has been shortlisted by the Pension Quality Mark for its new Distinction Award. The award seeks to recognise the best of the best in pension communications; rewarding those who have gone above and beyond in order to encourage member engagement.

Sony appointed Wordshop to help it develop its pension communications in 2015, just as the pension flexibilities took effect. In fact, our first project was to communicate the new options to members in an engaging and targeted way. Since then, Wordshop has developed a new pension brand for Sony, updated the design and content of many of its pension documents, produced engaging member newsletters and ad-hoc communications, and launched a highly successful pension website.

Matthew Doyle, Managing Director of PQM, said: ‘To be accredited with the PQM already highlights a pension scheme as good quality, with communications that guide the member through decisions that need to be made in managing their retirement saving.

‘The PQM Distinction Award highlights those schemes and employers that are innovative pensions communicators, going even further in their own unique way to help their members and employees to work through these challenging options.’

Ian Miller, the Chairman of the Sony UK Pension Scheme, says: ‘I am delighted that Sony has been shortlisted for this award, but it is Wordshop’s creative input that has, without question, been the driving force behind our nomination. As Trustees, we understand the technicalities of pensions but often it’s difficult to convey that information to our members in a way that engages them. It is for this reason that Wordshop’s involvement has been so valuable.’

The shortlist will be assessed by a panel of independent experts and the winner announced at the PLSA Annual Conference on 18 October.


  1. Arqiva Group Personal Pension Plan
  2. Church Administrators Pension Fund DCS
  3. Heineken Flexible Retirement Plan
  4. National Grid YouPlan
  5. Sony U.K. Pension Trust Limited
  6. The Electricity North West Group of the ESPS: DC Section